WJ Tested: La Residence Hotel & Spa Hue, Vietnam

La Residence Hotel & Spa Hue, Vietnam

La Residence Hotel & Spa Hue, Vietnam

La Residence Hotel & Spa Hue, Vietnam

Formerly the residence of the French Colonial Governor, La Residence Hotel & Spa is now a 5-star luxury boutique hotel situated in a quiet location along the Perfume River. The 1930s Art Deco architecture, styling and ambiance provide a unique and elegant atmosphere while guests still enjoy the comfort of modern amenities. Under the leadership of General Manager Mr. Phan Trong Minh, the entire team of management and staff exemplify the very best in service, professionalism and hospitality.

La Residence Hotel & Spa

La Residence Hotel & Spa

LOCATION:

Hue is located approximately 3-hours drive north of Danang on the South Central Coast of Vietnam. It is easily accessible by plane or train from various locations throughout the country (i.e. Ho Chi Minh City is just over a 1-hour flight).

ALLURE:

Hue was the former Imperial Capital of Vietnam and is home of The Citadel, a UNESCO World Heritage Site rich in history. The hotel is perfect for a relaxed and quiet getaway while providing a historic and interesting atmosphere.

Hue Citadel - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Hue Citadel – UNESCO World Heritage Site

ROOMS:

Most of the 122 rooms and suites have views of the Perfume River and across to the Citadel Flagtower Bastion. Guests will enjoy well-appointed, classy and comfortable accommodations during a stay at La Residence.

La Residence Hotel & Spa - Twin Room

La Residence Hotel & Spa – Twin Room

DINING:

The best Vietnamese and Western culinary experience can be enjoyed at Le Parfum Restaurant thanks to the tremendous talent and creativity of Chef La Thua An and his team. Top quality ingredients and impeccable service meld together to enhance the first-class dining. For a more relaxed atmosphere the Le Gouverneur Bar is perfect for lounging with a cocktail or casual dining.

Le Parfum Restaurant - Vietnamese Tapas

Le Parfum Restaurant – Vietnamese Tapas

DON’T MISS:

  • Le Spa – Vietnamese Cupping Therapy and Thai Massage are among the many options
  • Saltwater outdoor swimming pool
  • Buffet breakfast – Extensive selection of hot and cold foods to suit every palate

    Le Spa at La Residence

    Le Spa at La Residence

LENGTH OF STAY:

Stay as long as you can! If one night is all the time you have, so be it. But if you can stay three to five nights, even better.

WHAT TO PACK:

  • Lightweight rain jacket or poncho
  • Sweater in the cooler season
  • Resort attire for evening dining at Le Perfum Restaurant

    La Residence Hotel and Spa at Night

    La Residence Hotel and Spa at Night

ACTIVITIES:

  • Take a cyclo ride from the hotel into the old town of Hue
  • Visit the UNESCO Citadel
  • Cruise the Perfume River

    Cyclo Ride in Hue

    Cyclo Ride in Hue

HOTEL AMENITIES AND SERVICES:

  • Rooms have a Balcony or Terrace
  • Desk
  • Flat Screen TV
  • Robes and Slippers
  • In-Room Safe
  • Spacious Bathroom
  • Quality Bathroom Amenities
  • Bottled Water
  • Air Conditioning
  • Business Center
  • Boutique
  • Art Gallery
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Room Service
  • Cooking Classes
  • Concierge
  • Bicycles
  • Tour Bookings
  • Meeting Space
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center
  • Outdoor Saltwater Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Sauna

    La Residence Saltwater Pool

    La Residence Saltwater Pool

WEBSITE:
La Residence Hotel & Spa

ADDRESS:
La Residence Hotel & Spa
5 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam

La Residence Boutique

La Residence Boutique

La Residence Breakfast Buffet - Tropical Fruit

La Residence Breakfast Buffet – Tropical Fruit

La Residence Breakfast Buffet - Pho Ingredients

La Residence Breakfast Buffet – Pho Ingredients

Le Parfum Restaurant - Vietnamese Fig Salad with Pork

Le Parfum Restaurant – Vietnamese Fig Salad with Pork

Sweet Eggnest of Le Parfum Desert

Sweet Eggnest of Le Parfum Desert

Perfume River Cruise

Perfume River Cruise

Note: Although WJ were guests of La Residence Hotel & Spa for 3 nights in November 2013, all opinions, reviews and commentary are our own. Read our full disclosure statement to see our review policy.

26 Responses to WJ Tested: La Residence Hotel & Spa Hue, Vietnam

  1. If I ever make it to Vietnam, I’ll be sure to stay here. This place looks great. What a trip!

    Nancy D. Brown 02/18/2014 at 9:41 pm
    • Nancy, you definitely need to stay at La Residence! We can’t say enough good things about the hotel, spa and entire team of staff that work there. And, the dining (starting with the fantastic breakfast buffet) is incredible. Hope you make it to Vietnam and La Residence soon :)

      Viv 02/19/2014 at 10:01 am
  2. This looks like a wonderful place to stay in Vietnam. The food pictures are very appetizing.

    Donna Janke 03/10/2014 at 10:21 am
    • You are correct, Donna, La Residence is a wonderful place to stay in Vietnam. We want to go back… Soon! :)

      Viv 03/10/2014 at 10:22 am
  3. Oh, it all looks and sounds so inviting and peaceful; wonderful article and photos.

    Marilyn Jones 03/10/2014 at 11:13 am
    • Thanks, Marilyn. It is absolutely wonderful. Have you travelled in Vietnam?

      Viv 03/10/2014 at 11:17 am
  4. I love boutique hotels. The ambiance and service is generally superior. La Residence looks like it’s in a great location for exploring — the cyclo ride is now on my bucket list!

    Patti Morrow 03/10/2014 at 11:16 am
    • Patti – Your sense of adventure would totally dig Hue and Vietnam. And, your amazing sense of style would totally appreciate La Residence. The cyclo ride was so much fun :)

      Viv 03/10/2014 at 11:19 am
  5. I am oooing and ahhing over everything I see. Your photos are fantastic. I would love to sample some of the gorgeous looking food.

    Nancie 03/10/2014 at 3:46 pm
    • Nancie – the food tasted even better than it looked :)

      Viv 03/10/2014 at 4:18 pm
  6. That part of the world is not on my radar, because it is way too far out of my comfort zone, but I love reading about the adventures of those who have traveled there. Is the pink/white fruit called Dragon Fruit? How does it taste, I’ve always been curious about that. That hotel/spa does look lovely though!

    Patti 03/10/2014 at 5:01 pm
    • Patti – You are correct! The Dragon Fruit is delicious and tastes similar to a Kiwi. So surprised (with your adventurous spirit) that Vietnam is not on your travel list – you may need to rethink that. It is now one of our favorite countries and we felt completely safe there. The people are delightful, very loving and super helpful. We can’t wait to go back… Come with us :)

      Viv 03/10/2014 at 5:11 pm
  7. Thanks for the informative post. It’s not a place I’ve thought of traveling but your descriptions and beautiful photos are pretty convincing.
    Who knows where the road will lead.

    Nancy Thompson 03/11/2014 at 8:30 am
  8. Your review of La Residence Hotel & Spa brought back many great memories of the month I sent in Vietnam 10 years ago. The fresh food, the lush scenery, the strong french coffee and the cycle tours–what a special place Vietnam is. Love your photos too .

    Michele Peterson 03/11/2014 at 5:56 pm
    • Thanks, Michele. You would probably notice a big change in 10 years – that’s what we hear from others that have visited during that time. Vietnam is an incredible country and one we want to explore much further.

      Viv 03/15/2014 at 11:42 am
  9. Looks like a lovely, one-of-a-kind place to stay. I love when a hotel has history and character.

    Irene S. Levine 03/12/2014 at 1:47 pm
    • We also loved La Residence for all the things you mention, Irene :)

      Viv 03/15/2014 at 11:43 am
  10. The food is so colorful and the streets look very peaceful. I can’t imagine how beautiful it must be to see the Imperial buildings.

    • Neva – the photos just don’t do justice. Everything is so much more interesting and vibrant in person :)

      Viv 03/15/2014 at 11:44 am
  11. I don’t know why I was surprised by the remnants of French colonial architecture in what was once French Indochine—-especially in Luang Prabang, Laos. Based on your review and photos, this seems like a pretty awesome place. Do you know what a high season room would typically cost? What type of tourists were staying there? Were there many Asian guests? Is the hotel privately owned? Are people supposed to ask so many questions in comments to blog posts? ;-)

    Suzanne Fluhr 03/14/2014 at 7:52 pm
    • Great questions, Suzanne :)

      Strange, but the French colonial architecture was also a bit of a surprise to us, too – even though we fully anticipated it.

      La Residence is absolutely awesome and we hope to return again very soon – 3 nights just wasn’t long enough for us. For a 5-star property, the prices are very reasonable and average about US$155 per night for 2 people, including their fabulous breakfast. The hotel is not privately owned, but definitely has the feel of one that is (thanks to the terrific management team and staff).

      You would really love this hotel and need to plan a visit to Hue next time you’re in Vietnam.

      Viv 03/15/2014 at 11:13 am
  12. This is reason to go to Hue.. for sure! And the chef’s butternut soup! And the ambiance of the Hotel.. aah, its just lovely, lovely. Great report back, well done V & G. x j

    Jean Wethmar 03/14/2014 at 11:07 pm
    • Thanks, Jean. Your travels around Vietnam first inspired us to visit – now we can’t wait to return and explore more. And yes, Hue and La Residence are absolutely lovely and definitely shouldn’t be missed.

      Viv 03/15/2014 at 11:40 am
  13. Viv and Jill,
    We keep running into each other on the Internet. This is a fabulous post (as usual) and you made me #Drool with the food photos. the room and architecture photos are fantastic. If and when I get to Viet Nam, I am checking this place out! I know you always state the facts. This place is impressive! Safe Travel.
    Mike

    Mike (Nomadic Texan) 03/15/2014 at 2:08 pm
    • Thanks, Mike. Hope you do get to Vietnam and also visit Hue – you’d really enjoy it :)

      Viv 03/16/2014 at 1:01 pm
Add Comment Register



Leave a Reply

CONNECT WITH US